The Santa Clause

At first, when I had my child, I considered not lying about Santa. I thought it might be better to be truthful…to never lie about Santa and take all of the credit for everything done on Christmas Eve. I thought I’d save my child the devastation and sense of betrayal that follows the realization of the lie of Santa. We decided to continue the tradition of Santa for our child. 

For all parents that participate in Santa, it is a sacrifice that we face each year. We work hard for what we get only to give some fake guy in a red velvet suit all of the credit. Why do we do this? Why do we lie? It is a lesson teaching the importance of selfless giving. We sacrifice the reciprocity involving the “Oh thank you mommy and daddy! I love it so much! I love you!” moment allowing the joy to fall on the child of knowing that someone other than parents and family loves him/her. This is something the child may never appreciate until older and/or have a child of his/her own.

Throughout our lives with our children, we give everything to them and ask for nothing in return. We do not want gifts. We want hugs, kisses, love. We want lasting moments. Our children freely give these things to us and do so without gifts.

 My child is now at an age where things are steadily becoming clear. My child is walking around the house leaving coins here and there saying “The Christmas Cat” has left us gifts. The lessons of selfless giving are being instilled in my child. Santa is still real at this time, but my child is clever. This may be the last year of Santa. My child is kind and loving. I wonder if my child will discover the Santa lie and pretend to believe for my and my husband’s benefit. It would befit my child’s nature. It makes me sad and proud.

Why do we give our children the lie of Santa? To give the illusion of magic and selfless giving in a world that tends to be devoid of such things. It will break my child’s heart to learn the lie of Santa…It’s already breaking mine…

In the end all parents are subjected to the Santa Clause…where our hearts will break far more than that of our children’s. Yet it is the bittersweet joy of the short magical time we have with our children that makes such heart break worth the lie.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darnack71
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 17:26:45

    This was a very touching and meaningful post. I kept the charade of Santa up for my parents until I was 13 at which point it stopped without any discussions. We both knew at that point that the other knew and it was unspoken that it was time it ended. Why did I continue lying and acting for them? I figured if it meant so much to them to lie to me in the first place, and they always seemed so happy watching me open my gifts from “Santa” that it would be my holiday gift to them to continue the tradition. This of course meant more to my Mother than my father but in the end it was appreciated. And that sentiment was the embodiment of the spirit of selfless giving. Merry Christmas to you and your dear family my friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

